New law makes driver training compulsory for Georgia’s 17-year-olds to obtain licenses – WSB-TV Channel 2

0

Georgian teenagers who will soon get behind the wheel will need to be informed of a new law that comes into force on Thursday.

As of July 1, “Joshua’s Law” will require 16 and 17 year olds to take a safety course before they can get their license.

Joshua’s Law, also known as House Bill 466, was passed during this year’s legislative session. Currently, 17-year-olds are exempted from the 30 hours of instruction in the program and the six hours of driver training.

TRENDING STORIES:

The Georgia Department of Driver Services has stated that anyone under the age of 18 will not receive their initial Class D license without completing the required training.

There are several options for teens to complete the program, including:

  • 30 hours of classroom instruction at a DDS approved school plus six hours of driving training at a DDS approved school plus 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent / guardian
  • 30 hours of classroom instruction at a DDS approved school and completion of the Teen Parent Driving Guide which includes 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent / guardian
  • Online course from a DDS approved school plus six hours of driving training at a DDS approved school plus 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent / guardian
  • DDS Approved Online Course and Teen Parent Driving Guide Completion which includes 40 hours of supervised driving with a parent / guardian

Teens are not required to present a driving log for supervised hours, but a parent or guardian must be present when applying for a license.

The DDS says approved courses are offered by high schools and private driving schools that can cost around $ 250. There are approved online virtual programs offered at lower cost.

A list of accredited schools is available on the DDS website.

[SIGN UP: WSB-TV Daily Headlines Newsletter]


Source link

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.